Guess what today is?  If you guessed National Cheesecake Day, you’re right.  But it’s ALSO National Paperback Day!  I just love me a good book.  And even though most of my reading these days takes place on my Kindle, there’s nothing like the smell of an old book, turning each page you finish, and the satisfaction of shutting it once you’ve read that final paragraph.  When you have an actual book, you don’t have to worry about begrudgingly turning off your Kindle and opening the Skymall magazine when the flight attendant asks you for the third time to PLEASE TURN OFF ALL ELECTRONICS.  You don’t have to worry about the battery running down right in the middle of a steamy scene in 50 Shades of Grey.  And you don’t have to worry about your nightly glass of water sitting too close to your book for fear of spilling it at 2 a.m. and losing your entire electronic library.

I’ve always been a big reader.  The first chapter books I remember reading were the Boxcar Children.  Shortly after that came Nancy Drew.  I was always jealous of Nancy’s Titian hair and ninja mystery solving skills.  And then a brief obsession with The Babysitter’s Club.  In fact, I loved reading so much that I originally went to college to major in English Literature.  I kept with it for about a year, but I decided to change when reading became a chore for me instead of an escape.

But far and away my favorite books have always been the Anne of Green Gables series.  Oh Anne with an E.  There is no character, literary or otherwise, that I have ever felt so connected with.  To use Anne’s own words, she and I are completely kindred spirits.  Oh the scrapes she gets into! (Oh the scrapes I get into!)  Oh the drama she evokes! (My life is a perfect graveyard of buried hopes!) Oh the imagination she has!  I’m not exaggerating when I say that 4 nights a week I read a couple pages of one of the books from the Anne series.  In fact, I read them so much that my Anne of Avonlea met with an unfortunate accident:

The binding broke and my poor book split right down the middle.  I know it’s just a cheap paperback and it’s easy enough to replace, but I’ve had it so many years I hate to part with it.  And then it wouldn’t match with the other 7 books in the series I have!  So duct tape will have to do.

When you think about it, isn’t that one of the best problems to have?  Loving a book so much that you’ve worn it out?  I think yes.

“Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.”
~Charles William Eliot

