First off, let me state that I’m not writing this post to brag, I promise.  I’m not trying to be all, “MIKE IS THE PERFECT HUSBAND AND WE NEVER FIGHT WHEEEEEEE!” and rub it in your face.  Because Mike isn’t perfect.  And we do fight; we’ve had some humdingers.  But I will tell you I love that man so fiercely it hurts my heart sometimes.  And he loves me pretty fierce as well.  For instance, he’s sitting on the couch next to me watching “The Sing Off” right now and he looks over and says gently, “you’re so hot.”  Well shucks.

Last week was our two year wedding anniversary.  I can’t believe I’ve been a Malone for two whole years!  Marriage is just one big old blessing.  Who doesn’t want to have a sleepover with your best bud every night?? (::wink wink::)  Mike and I didn’t live together before we were married, and on our honeymoon it was so fun (and sometimes a little shocking) to see the other person’s habits and idiosyncrasies– especially when we naively thought we knew everything each other before we got married.  Holy cats were we wrong.

Mike makes every day a different, and usually hilarious, adventure.  He makes me feel safe.  He constantly shows me in a million different ways how much he treasures me and our marriage.  He loves my chubby hands.  He brought me swedish fish today because he knew I was super nervous about my yearly review at work (which actually went swimmingly, thankyouforasking).  He sings in a falsetto voice when we’re driving in the car.  He always smells fabulous.  He’s a total bed hog.  And speaking of bed, he holds me close in bed every night, and before we drift off to sleep, he prays.  He has a servant’s heart and puts my needs above his own.  And he makes me want to better wife, a better daughter, a better friend, and a better Christian.  He is most definitely my better half.

I love you, Moose.  “Whatever our souls our made of, yours and mine are the same.”

Place me like a seal over your heart,
   like a seal on your arm;
for love is as strong as death,
   its jealousy unyielding as the grave.
It burns like blazing fire,
   like a mighty flame.
Many waters cannot quench love;
   rivers cannot sweep it away.
If one were to give
   all the wealth of one’s house for love,
   it would be utterly scorned.

~Song of Solomon 8:6-7

